Civil Services Mains Exam 2013 New pattern

By | March 6, 2013

PLAN OF EXAMINATION:   The Civil Services Examination will consist of two successive stages

(i) Civil Services Preliminary Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination; and

(ii) Civil Services Main Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts

Main Examination: (Written and Interview). The candidates qualified in the Preliminary Examination are permitted for the Main Examination

The main Examination is intended to assess the overall intellectual traits and depth of understanding of candidates rather than merely the range of their information and memory.

Scheme and subjects for the MAIN Examinations: The written examination will consist of the following papers




Paper-I Section 1 Essay 200 Marks
  Section 2 English Comprehension & English Précis (Of Matriculation/ Xth standard level) 100 Marks
Paper-II General Studies–I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) 250Marks
Paper-III   General Studies –II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) 250 Marks
Paper-IV  General Studies –III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) 250 Marks
Paper-V General Studies –IV (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) 250 Marks
Paper-VI Optional Subject – Paper 1 250 Marks
Paper-VII Optional Subject – Paper 2 250 Marks
Sub Total (for Written test)

1800 Marks

Personality Test 275 Marks
Grand Total         

2075 Marks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.